Tuesday, May 7, 2013

We are proud of WCCLS' award-winning librarians!

Washington County is full of award-winning library staff! At the Oregon Library Association annual conference last week, four people who work at libraries in Washington County were honored with awards.

Left to right: Abigail Elder, Ed House, Laurie Mintz, Eva Calcagno

Eva Calcagno, director of Washington County Cooperative Library Services, won the Librarian of the Year award. She was recognized for her leadership in developing the new statewide Oregon Library Passport Program, which reduces barriers to library services statewide. Eva said "I’m honored to receive this award because it recognizes efforts to build cooperation and sharing among libraries for the improvement of public service. It’s what Washington County libraries have done for nearly 40 years." Congratulations Eva!

Laurie Mintz was awarded Library Employee of the Year! A Library Assistant at the Tualatin Library, Laurie was recognized for her generosity, mentoring and work with the Spanish-speaking community. Letters nominating Laurie mentioned her friendliness, creativity, excellent problem solving skills, and her ability to put people at ease. 

Abigail Elder, director of the Tualatin Library, won the OLA President's award for her leadership of the Association and her grace and selflessness in handling the Association’s leadership transition after the departure of the previous President.

Ed House, director of the Beaverton Library since 2001, was recognized for his successful career in Oregon libraries and years of outstanding service with an Honorary Lifetime Membership to the Oregon Library Association.

Congratulations to all the winners! We are proud to have such great staff serving the library patrons of Washington County.